The Philadelphia Association of Defense Counsel (PADC) is proud to announce the election of June J. Essis, Esquire, of Weber Gallagher Simpson Stapleton Fires & Newby LLP as 2022-2023 President at its recent Annual Meeting.  June is the sixth female to serve as PADC President. Also elected as PADC officers for the upcoming year are: Kenneth S. Butensky, Esquire, of the City of Philadelphia Law Department as Vice President – Operations; Colleen E. Hayes, Esquire, of Goldberg Segalla as Vice President – Programs; C. Scott Toomey, Esquire, of Littleton Park Joyce Ughetta & Kelly LLP as Treasurer; and Andre J. Webb, Esquire, of German Gallagher & Murtagh as Secretary. Executive Committee members for 2022-2023 were also elected at the Annual Meeting.

Immediate Past PADC President William J. Ricci, Esquire, of Ricci Tyrrell Johnson & Grey received PADC’s President’s Award and a Defense Research Institute (DRI) Exceptional Performance Award. The PADC Distinguished Service Award were given to Harriet V. Anderson, Esquire, of Harriet V. Anderson & Associates. The Joseph H. Foster Young Lawyer Award was given to Lauren M. Steins, Esquire, of Deasey Mahoney & Valentini.

PADC is an association of lawyers engaged in the defense of civil damage claims. Organized in 1947, PADC is the oldest continuously operating local defense organization in the United States. It includes over 300 members from Philadelphia and surrounding counties. PADC was named the 2020 outstanding organization of its kind in the nation by DRI, the national organization of defense groups.